Domestic politics

National government

Ukraine's government is divided into legislative, executive, and judicial branches.The president serves as Head of State and is directly elected for a maximum of two consecutive 5-year terms. The President serves primarily to represent Ukraine in international affairs and foreign policy objectives. The President's powers include the capacity to to approve/veto bills adopted by Parliament, act as Commander-in-Chiev of the Armed Forces of Ukraine, and to appoint key posts in the Presidential Administration. 

Ukraine's parliament, the Verkhovna Rada or "Supreme Council" is the country's legislative body. The Rada consists of 450 members that serve 4-year terms, half of which are elected by majority vote and half of which are elected proportionally. Currently, the Verkhovna Rada is dominated by President Petro Poroshenko's Solidarity party, which holds 144 seats. Other political parties that hold seats in parliament include People's Front (82 seats), Opposition Bloc (42 seats), Self Reliance (30 seats), Revival (22 seats), People's Will (19 seats), and Fatherland (18 seats). The remaining 71 seats are unaffiliated (42 seats) or vacant (29 seats).    

The Prime Minister of Ukraine, currently Arseniy Yatsenyuk,  presides over the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, the highest body of state executive power. Appointed by the President, but subject to approval by the Verkhovna Rada. The Cabinet of Ministers (otherwise known as the Government of Ukraine), consists of 17 ministries which are responsible for implementing state policies within a specific field of government.