Key information

Serbia was the largest single republic of the former Yugoslavia, and included the provinces of Kosovo and Vojvodina. The two provinces received autonomy in 1974, but self governance was limited in 1990. Yugoslavia split along ethnic lines in 1991. Throughout the 1990’s Serbia unsuccessfully waged wars to bring ethnic Serb-populated territories under its control. Kosovo came under international administration after the 1999 war, and declared independence in 2008. Montenegro ended its loose union with Serbia in 2006.

Item Description
Area Serbia proper: 21,600 square miles (Roughly equal to Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia), and Vojvodina: 8,300 square miles
Natural resources Oil, gas, coal, iron ore, copper, zinc, antimony, chromate, gold, silver, magnesium, pyrite, limestone, marble, salt, arable land
Item Description
Population Serbia, including Vojvodina - 7.243 million (2013 est.)
Ethnic groups Serbia, including Vojvodina (2002): 82.9% Serb, Hungarian 3.9%, Others 13.2%
Religions Orthodox 84.1%, Catholic 6.2%, Muslim 3.4%, Other 6.3%
Languages Mainly Serbian


Item Description
Capital Belgrade
System of government Parliamentary republic
Head of state Tomislav Nikolić
Currency The currency is the Dinar. The Euro is widely accepted, though not everywhere.