Serbia was the largest single republic of the former Yugoslavia, and included the provinces of Kosovo and Vojvodina. The two provinces received autonomy in 1974, but self governance was limited in 1990. Yugoslavia split along ethnic lines in 1991. Throughout the 1990’s Serbia unsuccessfully waged wars to bring ethnic Serb-populated territories under its control. Kosovo came under international administration after the 1999 war, and declared independence in 2008. Montenegro ended its loose union with Serbia in 2006.