Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia

Post-war Yugoslavia’s external borders were slightly larger than they had been in 1941. Yugoslavia was renamed the Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia, with Tito as the prime minister. In keeping with pledges made during the war, the administrative boundaries were redrawn and the new country consisted of six republics:

  • Slovenia
  • Croatia
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Serbia
  • Montenegro
  • Macedonia

and two autonomous provinces:

  • Kosovo and Metohija
  • Vojvodina
Tito breaks with Stalin

Tito rejected absolute control by Moscow and broke with Stalin in 1948. The independent communist state attracted significant Western economic and at times political support.

Western support and Tito’s ability to control ethnic tensions proved crucial to the survival of communist Yugoslavia. Tito’s use of repression and the ideology of “Brotherhood and Unity” prevented any one ethnic group from political dominance. The régime also experimented with the constitution. There were major changes in 1953, 1963 and 1974. The last involved significant decentralization, in response to internal unrest, especially in Croatia and Kosovo.

Tito President for Life

The 1974 constitution made Tito President for Life. The six republics were given more autonomy and a similar status was awarded to the two autonomous provinces within Serbia: Kosovo , a largely ethnic Albanian populated region and Vojvodina, a region with large numbers of ethnic minorities, such as Hungarians, living among a majority Serb population.